Thursday, April 9, 2015

The David Gemmell Awards: The LEGEND AWARD

David Gemmell was one of those writers you just sort of had to fall in love with, on a literary sense, of course. He wrote mighty fine fiction. I had basically quit reading fantasy when he came on the scene and only started reading it again after he had passed away. My friend Charles R. Rutledge pointed him out to me and handed me a copy of LEGEND to read for myself when I decided to try my luck with a fantasy novel As is often the case, Charles knows h is stuff. I read LEGEND and loved it. I went on to buy several of Gemmell's other novels and loved them, too.
What I did not expect was to be nominated for the David Gemmell Legend Award. The full list of nominees is below. I am beyond flattered to even be considered in the same company. 

Legend Award
The Legend Award, named after David Gemmell’s first and most popular novel, is presented to the fantasy title judged the year’s best by open vote.
The trophy, pictured here, is a scale model of Snaga, the axe wielded by Gemmell’s iconic hero Druss, and is created specially each year by Simon Fearnhamm of Raven Armoury.

Voting on 2015’s Legend longlist closes at midnight on Friday 15th May.
Voting on the shortlist opens on Monday 1st June and closes at midnight on Friday 17thJuly.
The presentation takes place at 8pm on Saturday 8th August at Nine Worlds Geekfest.

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie (HarperCollins)

The Widow’s House by Daniel Abraham (Orbit)

Son of the Morning by Mark Alder (Gollancz)

Oath of the Vayuputras by Amish (Jo Fletcher Books)

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett (Jo Fletcher Books)

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan (Titan)

The High Druid’s Blade by Terry Brooks (Orbit)

Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan (Orbit)

Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Relic Guild by Edward Cox (Gollancz)

A Dance of Ghosts by David Dalglish (Orbit)

Assail by Ian C Esslemont (Transworld)

Gleam by Tom Fletcher (Jo Fletcher Books)

Valour by John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)

Unholy War by David Hair (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris (Gollancz)

Spira Mirabilis by Aidan Harte (Jo Fletcher Books)

Righteous Fury by Markus Heitz (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb (HarperCollins)

Sworn in Steel by Douglas Hulick (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)

In Dark Service by Stephen Hunt (Gollancz)

Justice by Ian Irvine (Orbit)

The Incorruptibles by John Hornor Jacobs (Gollancz)

The Fourth Gwenevere by John James (with John & Caitlin Matthews) (Jo Fletcher Books)

Blood Will Follow by Snorri Kristjansson (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Lascar’s Dagger by Glenda Larke (Orbit)

Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence (HarperCollins)

Smiler’s Fair by Rebecca Levene (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Crimson Campaign by Brian McClellan (Orbit)

Reign of Ash by Gail Z Martin (Orbit)

The Falcon Throne by Karen Miller (Orbit)

Crown of Renewal by Elizabeth Moon (Orbit)

The Blasted Lands by James A. Moore (Angry Robot)

Arcanum by Simon Morden (Orbit)

The Dark Defiles by Richard Morgan (Gollancz)

Retribution by Mark Charan Newton (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)

Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade by Den Patrick (Gollancz)

The Free by Brian Ruckley (Orbit)

Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan (Orbit)

Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)

Baptism of Fire by Andrzej Sapkowski (Gollancz)

The Seal of the Worm by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)

The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks (Orbit)

Needless to say, again, I am delighted. I have exactly no chance in hell of winning, but I am delighted just the same. Congratulations to all the nominees!