Monday, February 23, 2015

Jonathan Crowley (not the author)

There are a lot of people saying nice things about Jonathan Crowley. Not the author by the same name, but the character I created. Don't get me wrong, I've heard a lot of praise for John Crowley and it's justified, but the names are only a happy coincidence.

So because people keep asking, here is a quick chronological breakdown of his appearances so far:

BOOMTOWN--A novel set in the Weird West, that has been a work in progress for a while now and that I plan on finishing it this year. A publisher is already in place.

BLACK TRAIN BLUES: A short story appearing in Midnight Echo Magazine issue Nine

THE DEVOTED: A serialized novella that appeared in LAMPLIGHT Volume Two and can now be found in the collected edition right here.

BLANK WHITE PAGE: A short story appearing in SNAFU: An Anthology of Military Horror

WHAT ROUGH BEAST: A Chap Book by White Noise Press starring Jonathan Crowley and his sometimes companion Khaarn.  This one was co-written with Charles R Rutledge and illustrated beautifully by Keith Minnion. It's almost sold out, so if you're interested, you should visit the link.

There are several more stories planned set in the same era.

WAR STORIES: A novella that showed up in SNAFU: HEROES: An Anthology of Military Horror

Want to know why I say these are in chronological order? because WAR STORIES takes place in the 1970's at the end of the Viet Nam war.

CHERRY HILL: A novel that deals more with Crowley's origin than anything else written so far. You can find it on Amazon right here. It actually takes place both before and after WAR STORIES.

UNDER THE OVERTREE In reality the novel is Crowley's first appearance. It was also my first novel. 

SERENITY FALLS: Writ In Blood: Book One

SERENITY FALLS: The Pack: Book Two

SERENITY FALLS: Dark Carnival: Book Three

The SERENITY FALLS trilogy was originally one book. When it was expanded, a goodly deal more information pertaining directly to Jonathan Crowley was added in what I have referred to more than once as "Jonathan Crowley's Adventures Across America." The series is currently out of print. I'll be rectifying that very soon.

HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS: A short story done for Cemetery Dance. You can purchase the Kindle edition right here. Art by the incomparable Glenn Chadbourne.

LITTLE BOY BLUE:  A promotional chapbook from Morningstar Press that is long out of print. You can find it here, or you can be patient. In all likeliness I'll have it available for the Kindle soon at the very least. Cover art by the amazing Alex McVey.

VENDETTA: A novella about, well, a vendetta. It's also out of print. Currently it's rather costly. Though I suspect it can also be found for less.

Honorable mentions: Crowley is also referenced and or has a bit part in SMILE NO MORE, BLIND SHADOWS (with Charles R. Rutledge), CONGREGATIONS OF THE DEAD (Also with Charles), A HELL WITHIN (Pending and also with Charles) and my novel HARVEST MOON, BLOOD TIDE a short story, and BLOOD RED the novel.

There's more on the horizon.

Just a head's up as to where we stand at the moment.

Cover art for Vendetta, by the the spectacular Alan M. Clark

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Angry Robot News

The official press release says: 

We are delighted to have shared with you our recent re-signings and new author deals. There are two new author announcements to come very soon, but today we are thrilled to tell you that James A. Moore will be writing two more books in his Seven Forges series, following Seven Forges and The Blasted Lands. Not only that but the next instalment, entitled City of Wonders, will be released this November, 2015. More details on City of Wonders below. James is a wonderful member of our Robot Family and we are excited to have his soul belong to continued involvement with Angry Robot Books.
James A Moore. He rocks!James A. Moore: “I am, of course, delighted to be working with my Robot Overlords once again. There have been rumors about them holding my family hostage through the negotiations and I want to make clear that nothing of the sort has happened. I am assured that the sudden disappearance of family members was merely a coincidence and not, as some AR authors have previously stated, a negotiating tool of any kind.
I have also been informed that so long as my manuscripts are delivered in a timely manner no more unexpected vacations to the “Lunar Gulag Wonderland” will be necessary.”
Marc Gascoigne: “I’m so pleased that Jim has agreed to write not one but two more Seven Forges books for us at Angry Robot. Clever, action-stuffed fantasy like his is why I became a fanatical fantasy fan in the first place.”

City of Wonders
Old Canhoon, the City of Wonders, is having a population explosion as refugees from Tyrne and Roathes alike try to escape the Sa’ba Taalor. All along the border between the Blasted Lands and the Fellein Empire armies clash and the most powerful empire in the world is pushed back toward the old Capital. From the far east the Pilgrim gathers an army of the faithful, heading for Old Canhoon and the growing masses of the lost and the desolate, on a mission of which he will not speak and looking for the faithful who will join him in his exodus.
In Old Canhoon itself the imperial family struggles against enemies old and new as the spies of their enemies begin removing threats to the gods of the Seven Forges and prepare the way for the invading armies of the Seven Kings. In the distant Taalor valley Andover Lashk continues his quest and must make a final decision, while at the Mounds, something inhuman is awakened and set free.
War is Here. Blood will flow and bodies will burn.
Seven Forges by James A. Moore, artwork by Alejandro Colucci
Seven Forges